Fairfield City a finalist in prestigious local government award

Published Friday, 10th November 2017

Fairfield City Council has been recognised for its progressive and positive work in a prestigious local government award.

Fairfield City Council has been recognised for its progressive and positive work in a prestigious local government award.

Council is a finalist in the AR Bluett Memorial Award which is widely regarded as the pinnacle of local government achievement. 

The annual Award is run by Local Government NSW (LGNSW) and is open to all 128 Councils across the State. LGNSW describes it as “the greatest accolade a council can achieve”. 

Mayor of Fairfield City Frank Carbone said he was very proud that Council was a finalist in such a significant local government award. 

“Council has achieved a number of great outcomes recently including being declared Fit for the Future and remaining a stand-alone council. 

“We also opened Aquatopia, the new Obstacle Course at Fairfield Adventure Park and Dutton Plaza at Cabramatta.  

“Council staff have worked hard to deliver these initiatives together with a wide range of other services and programs. I am therefore very proud that this work is being recognised through being a finalist for such a prestigious local government award. 

“The AR Bluett Memorial Award is open to more than 100 councils across NSW. To be chosen as a finalist means we have been recognised for the enormous investment and changes we are making to Fairfield City for the benefit or our community.  

“The real winners are members of our community as everything Council does is designed to benefit our local residents and make Fairfield City a great place to live, work and have fun.” 

As an Award finalist, Council was recently visited by the Award Trustees who went on a tour of the City and saw some of the achievements first hand. 

To reach the finalist stage of the AR Bluett Memorial Award process Council submitted a comprehensive document telling the story of its initiatives and achievements. These included the opening of Aquatopia, providing affordable services, establishing a new Youth Mentoring and Leadership Program, creating recreation areas, introducing new waste drop-off services, upgrading town centres, ensuring financial sustainability and more. 
The AR Bluett Award has been awarded annually since 1945. It is named after Albert Robert Bluett who was a long-term Secretary and Solicitor to the Local Government and Shires Associations of NSW and an authority on local government law. 

The winner of the 2017 AR Bluett Memorial Award will be announced at the LGNSW Annual Conference which is held on 4-6 December 2017.