Pay tribute to someone who makes you proud to be an Australian

Published Wednesday, 14th October 2015

Fairfield City Council is calling on residents to nominate members of the community who make them proud to be Australian and a part of Fairfield City.

The awards aim to recognise outstanding achievements during the past year and/or contribution to the local community over a number of years.

Award categories include:

  • Citizen of the Year - 18 years and over
  • Young Citizen of the Year - up to 17 years
  • Volunteer of the Year - 12 years and over
  • Sports Achiever of the Year - 12 years and over

Ages are as at 26 January 2016. Individuals who are Australian citizens who live, work or study in the Fairfield City Local Government Area and have made significant contributions or achievements in the community are eligible to be nominated for an Australia Day Community Award.

Mayor of Fairfield City Frank Carbone said this was a great opportunity for the community to acknowledge the great work being done by community achievers.

“Fairfield City is full of unsung heroes who work tirelessly in making this City great,” Mayor Carbone said.

“Many of them do this without any recognition. The Community Awards are a great way to thank them for this wonderful work.”

The winners will be announced at a special ceremony on Monday 25 January 2016 at Fairfield City Council Chambers.

Nomination forms and guidelines are available from Council’s website. Nominations close on Monday 2 November.

2015 Winners

Citizen of the Year: Cathie Watt

Cathie has been involved with the First Fairfield Heights Scouting Group since 1970. For over 40 years Cathie has volunteered her time and support to the community.

Her service to the community also includes co-ordinating scouts from the Fairfield District Scouts and Guides Group, Hume Region, to attend Fairfield City Council’s monthly citizenship ceremony and assist in welcoming our newest Australians.

Young Citizen of the Year: Angela Arduca

Angela grew up in Fairfield City. She has been singing since the age of seven and has delighted audiences with her solo performances in various events for religious festivals, church services, concerts, Australia Day celebrations and Christmas carols in Fairfield City.

In June 2014, Angela was invited by Council to record the Australian National Anthem, Advance Australia Fair, with local record producer Phil Anquetil. The version mixes Angela’s vocals with a didgeridoo and music – to acknowledge the Cabrogal people of the Darug Nation. It was launched in August 2014 and is played at all Council meetings, Australian citizenship ceremonies and events.

Volunteer of the Year: John Cochrane

John has volunteered at the Mt Pritchard East Public School for the past 13 years. His children attended the school in the 1960s and his grandchildren years later. He is the School Council President, a position he has held for the past nine years.

Four mornings a week for the past 13 years, John has operated the Making Up for Lost Time in Literacy program targeted at students in Years 3 to 6 who are experiencing reading difficulties. He provides an individualised 30-minute program over two hours for four students identified by the learning support team. The program has sustained because of John’s regular and reliable contribution. He is a role model to the students in terms of dedication, punctuality, dress, manner and voice.

Sports Achiever of the Year: Sebastian Acosta-Vazquez

Sebastian was a student at Fairfield High School who competed in the 100 and 200 metre, high jump and long jump.

In 2014, Sebastian won five medals in six events at the NSW Combined High Schools Sports Association Championship. He won gold in long jump (6.96m), high jump (2m), 100m (11.20 seconds) and bronze in 200m with 22.91 seconds.

In 2013 at the New South Wales Little Athletics titles Sebastian won gold and broke the under-17s long jump state record with a leap of 6.97m. He also broke his ankle. At the NSW Combined High Schools Sports Association, Sebastian won gold in the long jump (6.53 metres), silver in the 100m (11.25 seconds), high jump (1.96 metres) and triple jump (13.10 metres), and bronze in the 200 metres (23.03 seconds).